Victorian 22kt micromosaic pin/brooch ROMA

Victorian-22kt-micromosaic-pin-brooch-ROMA.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA d.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA c.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA b.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA a.jpg
DSC00927.png
Victorian-22kt-micromosaic-pin-brooch-ROMA.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA d.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA c.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA b.jpg
ciondolo micromosaico ROMA a.jpg
DSC00927.png

Victorian 22kt micromosaic pin/brooch ROMA

12,500.00

An Italian 1870's 22ct gold tested pendant/pin with micromosaics, in the eclectic style, the top part removable to make it a brooch.

Housed in its original fitted case from the retailer Giuseppe Civilotti, Piazza di Spagna 93-94-95 embossed in gold lettering.

Dimensions 2-1/8''L x 1-5/8''W

Perfect condition commensurate with age.

The Civilotti family (Carlo, Antonio and Giuseppe) were active in Rome as jewelers and gem engravers from the mid 19th century until the end of the century. Antonio was a renown goldsmith greatly appreciated at his time for making exquisite works in the Etruscan revival style and neo-renaissance style in the same manner of Castellani, Giuliano, Pierret, Podio etc… He was most probably the goldsmith of our piece and the mosaic was most certainly realized by Luigi Podio, who did all the mosaics for the Castellani firm as well.

Giuseppe Civilotti, was himself a gem engraver, but above all a retailer of the pieces of jewelry made by Antonio in his shop in Piazza di Spagna, one the most exclusive locations in Rome at the time and still today. His firm is mentioned in many guides or handbooks of the Eternal City from the 1850's on, he also exposed at the London world's fair of 1871.

Luigi Podio (1826-1888) was the master mosaicist for the famed archaeological revival jeweler, Castellani. Podio's workshop in Rome created some of the finest and most detailed mosaics of the period. The higher quality and exquisite detail of the mosaics in Podio's workshop rose well above the coarser production of his peers. Podio supervised the mosaic studio from 1851 to 1888.

Add To Cart